# LA CROSSE COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS MONTHLY MEETING PROCEEDINGS; THURSDAY, DECEMBER 19, 2024

The La Crosse County Board of Supervisors Monthly Meeting was held on Thursday, December 19, 2024 in the Administrative Center, Room 1700. The County Clerk, Ginny Dankmeyer, took attendance. 24 supervisors were present when Chair Tina Tryggestad called the meeting to order at 6:00 P.M. and those otherwise present, excused or absent are noted in the roll call detail:

District	Name	Attendance
1	Leibold, Kelly	Present
2	Geary, Ralph	Present
3	Pierce, David	Present
4	Freedland, Maureen	Excused
5	Anderson, Emily	Present
6	Mathu, Grant	Present at 06:05 PM
7	Padesky, Gary	Present
8	Isola, Peg	Present
9	Wacek, Dawn	Present
10	Cable, Kim	Excused
11	Scheller, Patrick	Present
12	Erickson, Randy	Present
13	Tryggestad, Tina	Present
14	Larson, Margaret	Present
15	Kruse, Monica	Excused
16	Ferries, Dan	Present
17	Pogreba, Jack	Present
18	Baroni, Mike	Present
19	Cornforth, Rick	Excused
20	Doyle, Steve	Present
21	Balduzzi, Dave	Present
22	Kovacevich, Joe	Present
23	Elam, Travis	Present
24	Vacant	
25	Jacobsen, Dennis	Present
26	Hundt, David	Present
27	Wuensch, Paul	Present
28	Rothering, Ron	Present
29	Schlimgen, Ken	Present
30	Mader, Dillon	Present

## **PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE**

## **COMMUNICATIONS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS:**

# **County Board Chair Report - Tina Tryggestad**

- 2024 Mileage Statements Supervisors are reminded to turn in their 2024 mileage statements to the clerk.
- Administrator Evaluation Process Administrator evaluations will be sent out to Supervisors at the beginning of the year.
- Update on vacancy for District 24 Applications for District 24 will be accepted until January 3<sup>rd</sup> and interview will be scheduled after that.

- Supervisor Conference Reports
  - Supervisor Isola attended the Tellurian Behavioral open house for their new crisis stabilization program.

## **CONSENT AGENDA**

Motion by G. Padesky/D. Mader to approve the minutes of the La Crosse County Board of Supervisors Planning Meeting held November 4, 2024 and the Public Hearing and Annual Meeting held November 12, 2024 passed on a unanimous voice vote with 25 ayes, 4 excused - K. Cable, R. Cornforth, M. Kruse and M. Freedland, 1 vacant - District 24.

## **APPOINTMENTS**

Motion by G. Mathu/D. Wacek reappoint David Hundt to the Agricultural Society for a one year term to expire December 31, 2025; Reappoint Anita Doering and Daryl Burrows to the Historic Sites Preservation Commission for a three year term to expire December 31, 2027; appoint Mark Zettler to the Historic Sites Preservation Commission for a three year term to expire December 31, 2027; reappoint Michele Olson to the La Crosse County Housing Authority for a five year term to expire December 31, 2029; reappoint Dennis Beekman and Larry Pohja to the La Crosse County Library Board for a three year term to expire December 31, 2027; reappoint Peg Isola, Gary Padesky and Grant Mathu to the Mississippi Valley Health Services for a three year term to expire December 31, 2027; reappoint Ryan Westpfahl to the Veterans Service Commission for a three year term to expire December 31, 2027; appoint Sylvester Sullivan to the Veterans Service Commission for a three year term to expire December 31, 2027; reappoint Sue Adams to the Winding River Library System for a three year term to expire December 31, 2027. Discussion ensued. The motion to approve passed on a unanimous voice vote with 25 ayes, 4 excused - K. Cable, R. Cornforth, M. Kruse and M. Freedland, 1 vacant - District 24

RESOLUTION NO. 36-12/24 RE: AUTHORIZATION FOR DESIGNATION OF DEPOSITORIES WHEREAS, per WI. Statutes Chapter 34 and 59, the County Board shall designate one or more depositories; and, WHEREAS, the Executive Committee has met and they have designated depositories which meet the state statutes requirements. The following financial institutions have been designated as official depositories for La Crosse County funds:

Holmen

Wells Fargo Bank NA, Onalaska

State Bank Financial, La Crosse & Onalaska

WNB Financial, Holmen

Coulee Bank, La Crosse, Onalaska & Holmen

Park Bank, La Crosse & Holmen

Associated Bank, La Crosse, Onalaska & Holmen

Dana Investment Advisors, Waukesha

MBIA Municipal Investors Corp.

Trust Point, La Crosse

Governmental Employees Credit Union, La Crosse

Co-Op Credit Union, Onalaska

BMO Bank NA, La Crosse & Onalaska

PMA Asset Management, LLC Naperville IL

PMA Financial Network, LLC-Wisconsin Investment

Series Cooperative, Milwaukee WI

State of Wisconsin Investment Pool, Madison Verve Credit Union, La Crosse, Onalaska & Holmen

First National Bank of Bangor & La Crosse

Bluff View Bank, Holmen Bremer Bank, Onalaska

Wells Fargo Securities

U.S. Bank, La Crosse & Onalaska

Union State Bank of West Salem, West Salem Altra Federal Credit Union, La Crosse, Onalaska & Holmen American Deposits Management, Delafield WI Institutional Capital Management, Milwaukee Citizens State Bank, La Crosse & Onalaska Merchants Bank, Onalaska 1<sup>st</sup> Community Credit Union, West Salem Bluff View Bank, Holmen CCF Bank, La Crosse

Firefighters Credit Union, La Crosse, Onalaska &

Marine Credit Union, La Crosse & Onalaska

River Bank, La Crosse, Holmen & Bangor

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the County Board appoint the financial institutions designated above as official depositories for La Crosse County funds: BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the aforementioned depositories are officially designated until there is a change in state statutes or they are amended by the La Crosse County Board. FISCAL NOTE: No Fiscal Impact

#### **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE**

Motion by D. Pierce/R. Erickson to approve passed on a unanimous voice vote with 25 ayes, 4 excused -K. Cable, R. Cornforth, M. Kruse and M. Freedland, 1 vacant - District 24.

## **SUGGESTIONS FOR FUTURE AGENDA TOPICS –** none offered.

## **ADJOURN**

Motion by G. Mathu/D. Wacek to adjourn at 6:10 PM passed on a unanimous voice vote with 25 ayes, 4 excused - K. Cable, R. Cornforth, M. Kruse and M. Freedland, 1 vacant - District 24.

# **STATE OF WISCONSIN )**

# **COUNTY OF LA CROSSE )**

I, Ginny Dankmeyer, La Crosse County Clerk, in and for the County of La Crosse, Wisconsin, do hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of the Journal of Proceedings of the La Crosse County Board of Supervisors at the La Crosse County Board of Supervisors Monthly Meeting held Thursday, December 19, 2024 and that it is the whole thereof. IN WITNESS THEREOF, I HAVE HEREUNTO SET MY HAND AND AFFIXED THE OFFICIAL SEAL THIS DAY 20 OF DECEMBER 2024.